Return to Headlines

Forney ISD Announces the 2020-2021 Counselors of the Year

Forney ISD recently announced the 2020-2021 Counselors of the Year for both elementary and secondary grade levels. The Elementary School Counselor of the Year is Deana Hester from Criswell Elementary School and the Secondary Counselor of the Year is Megan Boyd from North Forney High School.

Mrs. Hester has been an educator for 22 years.  She began her career in the classroom as a kindergarten and first grade teacher.  She became the counselor at Criswell in 2008 and is currently completing her 13th year serving the students and families at Criswell.    

“She goes above and beyond at everything she does, said Criswell Elementary Principal Rachel Bonner. “She is outstanding at building relationships with students, families and staff.  She exemplifies one of Criswell's core values of kindness to others.  

As the lead counselor at North Forney High School, Megan Boyd has brought the counseling team together to take a team approach to all tasks. She has paired with the North Forney High student support counselor to ensure student mental health needs are addressed. In addition to counseling students at North Forney, Boyd also partnered with the Forney Learning Academy (FLA) GOALS program to ensure the right students were being served. She also oversees scholarship opportunities and assists with the creation of the master schedule.  

“Ms. Boyd is the ultimate lead counselor,'' said North Forney High School Principal Michael Jung. “She is selfless, caring, a team player, and someone who you can absolutely count on. She handles her business professionally, promptly, and always with a positive attitude. She is loved by her students and parents.”

Jung added that a parent recently told him that Ms. Boyd.."Is a gem. She is a reason I love this school." 

There are a total of 29 counselors in Forney ISD supporting students and staff at schools across the district. Tina Spain, the Director of Guidance and Assessment oversees the counselors in Forney ISD.


Deana Hester
Forney ISD 2020-2021 Elementary Counselor of the Yea

(L-R) - Criswell Principal Rachel Bonner, Deana Hester and Assistant Principal Maribel Sanchez.


Megan Boyd
2020-2021 Secondary Counselor of the Year
(L-R) - NFHS Principal Michael Jung, Assistant Principal Kayla Chldress, Megan Boyd, Assistant Principal Tyra Clayton, Associate Principal Todd Hopkins, Assistant Principal Janis Grace and Assistant Principal Jason Mood.